The Fashionista Award // Tag

Hello everyone!

After a week without it, I am now spending my weekend soaking up the wifi rather than the sun and the perfect excuse for writing up a blog post on this fine Saturday afternoon has come in the form of the Fashionista Award.

fashionista award

Now now, no one here is claiming to be a ‘fashionista’ (I’m not actually entirely sure why the awards called that but there’s all sorts these days) however I was very kindly nominated by my best blogger friend Jess who has the most wonderful feminist blog and is just generally hilarious (I don’t even know this girl in real life but I feel like we’re so similar it’s slightly scary) . If you haven’t visited already then I strongly urge you to peruse her blog until your heart is content and I’m sure you’ll love it just as much as I do. (Click HERE, go on, you know you want to)

Anyway onto the tag, it appears that the general rules are similar to other awards in that you answer some questions and then nominate other bloggers to do the same. So let’s get on with it then.

What motivated you to start blogging? I feel like this question is so widely asked in a variety of ways and I’ve answered it many a time on my blog. However to cut a long story short, I was bored one day and I was always interested in documenting my thoughts about things that seemingly no one else was that interested in (what I’d been buying/ putting on my face/ doing with my life etc). I then discovered the wonders of YouTube and fell in love with watching people talk about similar things. Considering I was too scared to film myself (and THANK GOD I didn’t for that would have been a tragedy) I created “Lashings of Lipstick” (yes, you have permission to laugh). After the bloglovin’ palava (it became the new big thing but my blog wouldn’t connect. It was a bit of a disaster) I decided that the only answer was to start again from scratch and that’s when I created “Daisy Chains in the Rain”. (Did I say this was the short story!? Apologies.) I blogged on and off for a couple of years and then after neglecting poor old DCITR for the majority of 2014 I decided to make it my new years resolution to blog more often with the idea of potentially starting a YouTube channel aswell (probably the first new years resolution I’ve ever stuck to!!) and here we are now. August 2015. 8 months into the year and I’m rather proud to say that blogging has become a much more prominent part of my life than I imagined a few years ago. Well, crikey this suddenly got very deep and I seem to be giving you my full life story which is certainly not what I was asked for. I could have just said “Pinterest” or “Zoella” but there we go.

Favourite Movies? I’m a sucker for a good chick flick so some of my faves are ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ (Rebecca Bloomwood is my spirit animal), ‘How to loose a guy in 10 days‘, ‘The Devil Wears Prada‘… you get the idea. For more serious/emotional films I love ‘Seven Pounds‘ and ‘Shawshank Redemption‘ and of course this entire list would not be complete without all 8 of the Harry Potter films. Oh also I can’t go forgetting Christmas films so ‘The Grinch‘ and ‘Elf‘ are definitely faves of mine!

What is your dream career? I won’t lie, I strongly dislike this question, in the sense that I can’t even think of a likely career for me, let alone a dream one. However, I’ll say that anything blog related would be amazing. To be able to have your hobby as your job is basically career goals.

Top wishlist items at the moment? Ohh, well considering my birthday is coming up next week I do have a bit of a list floating around (hoping to catch the eye of madre y padre) but in terms of what I want to buy myself at the moment, I am hoping to get my hands on the second book in the ‘Infernal Devices’ series by Cassandra Clare as I read the first one on holiday and loved it. I’ll probably pop into Waterstones tomorrow and tick it right off the wishlist.

Favourite Television Shows? Absolute fave is ‘Teen Wolf’ but I love a bit of ‘Friends’ and I’m also kinda hooked on PLL (although, yes, I am still only on season 2!)

What store do you find yourself shopping in the most? I’ll probably have to say H&M for this one. Whenever I’m clothes shopping I always stop by a H&M and I seem to constantly be wearing something from the store. I don’t even realise that I buy more things there than anywhere else but I think it’s down to price and reliability. You just know that you’re going to find that basic item you’ve been searching for in there along with the occasional bargain in the sale. I am trying to be a bit more adventurous these days as I do often get bored of the styles etc in H&M but yes, I will admit, I do probably shop there the most.

Favourite fashion designer? I feel so inadequate when I have the word fashion at the top of my blog yet have no clue who designed what. Then again, that unemployed 16 year old student budget doesn’t exactly stretch to designer darling.

Describe your dream vacation? I would absolutely love to go to New York at Christmas time. Of course it would have to be snowing and of course I would have to do all the classic touristy things. Simple.

What are the goals for your blog? I love Jess’ answer to this and I totally agree. Of course it’s natural to want to grow your audience and gain more followers because it is just so damn heart warming when someone speaks positively or shows appreciation for something you’ve created, but I also really want to connect with more bloggers and just generally improve my content. I’ve managed to get a bit of a YouTube schedule going so it would be great to have specific days I upload blog posts aswell (although I do kinda like the spontaneity of it sometimes) and potentially get my own domain name, improve my blog design, you know the drill.

If you had the opportunity to interview a celebrity, who would it be? Well this is a hard one. I just sat deliberating this for a good five minutes and my mind seems to have gone blank on the celebrity front. I can’t decide. What an abysmal answer to the final question.

 So that’s it for today folks, don’t want to overload you on info about moi as I already feel vain enough writing an entire blog post about myself.

Onto the nominations. I nominate these 3 lovely ladies whose blogs are all fairly new discoveries of mine but ones I already love!! Definitely check them out, and to Rebecca, Lucyy and Beth I hope you enjoy doing this tag (sorry if you’ve already done it and of course don’t feel obliged!)

Rebecca Alice from WavesOfThoughts

Lucyy from LucyyThinks

Beth from LifeWithB

Love Izzy xxx

6 thoughts on “The Fashionista Award // Tag

  1. Three things.
    1) YOU ARE SO CUTE I JUST WANT TO SQUISH YOUR FACE
    2) Best blogger friend *cries mother of the groom-esque tears*
    3) Lashings of Lipstick………………hehehehehehehe x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the post! The second book in the infernal devices series is amazing!! I also love Elf and even though I’ve watched it a ridiculous amount of times I still find it hilarious! Thank you for tagging me! It looks like a fun tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

