Oxford Street Lush Haul // Featuring Exclusive Products

Oxford Street Lush Haul

Hello Everyone,

If you’re an avid Lush fan like myself then I’m sure you’ll know all about the incredible Oxford Street store that’s opened up with over 200 exclusive products in London. (You will also know this if you’ve been watching my YouTube videos – Sorry but I can’t seem to go a single blog post without a cheeky self promo these days!)

Anyway, I of course took a trip there and obviously everything that took my fancy went STRAIGHT in my basket (on the topic of baskets, the only minor disappointment was the lack of wicker that you find in the smaller/Bristol stores – they’d been replaced by boring old black plastic ones! but that’s not the point..)

I have made an entire video all about what I bought (I’ll link it at the bottom of this blog post if you’d like to check it out) but when editing it I realised just how much I used the phrase “so nice” when describing the scents and let’s be honest that is rather vague. So here I plan to actually research the items in more detail and give you the low down on what’s what. Don’t say I don’t do anything for you.

Oh, by the way, those with an asterisk (*) are exclusive to Oxford Street only!

Bath Bombs 

  • The Experimenter* ~ ‘Your own bathtime motion picture, starring vibrant colour, popping candy and comforting Fair Trade Vanilla.’ (£3.75)the experimenter

So in my video I said this one smelled slightly like a Church and I stand by my initial statement! It does, to me, resemble that incense-y, musky old building smell – but in a nice way!  As this is probably quite a difficult description to imagine for many, I researched what this bath bomb actually contained and it turns out the main ingredient is vetivert oil … still confused? Yes, me too. However, I’ve seen this product described as being both earthy and smoky at the same time and I totally agree! It’s definitely not floral, fruity or vanilla scented but don’t let this put you off because although it’s not my favourite, something about it (maybe the complexity of the scent) just makes me want to keep sniffing it. This bath bomb is so colourful featuring bright pink, blue, orange, purple and white and I can’t wait to see how amazing it will make my bath look! Just the shape of it alone is funky as fudge.

  • Yoga Bomb* ~ ‘Find sanctuary in slow, unfurling layers of deeply relaxing olibanum and ho wood.’  (£3.75)yoga bomb

I forgot to take a close up but it’s the fat one at the back (sounds like 12 year old me ahaha #sadtimez)

This one I saw in someone’s blog post (I’m really sorry I can’t remember who it was but creds to whoever wrote it) and was intrigued due to the name. It doesn’t really look like anything special, just a plain orange blob really, but knowing Lush there’s bound to be something exotic lurking inside ready to surprise you. In contrast to the childish and giddy excitement that the experimenter is likely to cause, this bomb is designed to relax and calm whoever has the fortune to posses it. The aroma is very unique and I’d say it’s a combination of citrus-y, woody and spicy scents which overall create an incredibly relaxing smell that I can easily imagine wafting around as you enter a yoga class. Definitely one to use when you’re in desperate need of a thoroughly calming bath.

  • Sacred Lotus* ~ ‘Drift away on exotic waters to a land of mood-brightening neroli and jasmine’ (£3.50)the sacred lotus bath bomb

In my video, I mentioned that this is a much fresher scent than the other two bath bombs and I do still think this would make a lovely morning bath if you wanted something to brighten your mood and create a luxurious start to the day. It’s definitely on the floral side of things which I’m normally not a fan of but as it’s mixed with Jasmine I have taken a fancy to it. I’d say it kind of smells like your standard soap, but then me and my church descriptions aren’t exactly reliable and it totally depends on what type of soap you’re used to using! The design of this is very unique and pretty, however the purple pointy bits do break off easily so take care when transporting it (also maybe not the best if you’re looking for a gift). A fun fact about this bath bomb is that neroli (one of the main ingredients in it) is actually known for increasing serotonin production in the brain which makes us feel happier and more content – so when they say uplifting they genuinely mean it!

Bubble Bars

  • Sunnyside ~ ‘Bathe in liquid gold with uplifting sweet wild orange and lemon oils’  (£3.75)sunnyside bubble bar

This product isn’t exclusive so if you like the look of it you can pop to your nearest Lush store and buy it right there and then, hurray! It’s a tear-shaped VERY glittery gold bubble bar named Sunnyside and it has a citrus scent to it (finally a smell that Izzy can identify!) The sweet orange oil is supposed to help soothe sensitive skin and the tangerine oil helps you to relax and apparently can even help insomnia which is pretty cool. As I write this I have just come out of the bath where I used about half of this bubble bar (it was v. difficult to break btw) so I can actually do a bit of a first impressions type thing aswell! I do really love the smell of this, if you love classic lemon/citrus scents this is definitely one to try. I was a bit concerned about the amount of glitter coating this bar (it is just a coating, the inside is as plain as Jane) but it turns out that it doesn’t stick to your skin so you don’t have to spend hours trying to scrub it off or follow up with a shower which is great! It does cling to the bath tub a little but it’s nothing that a quick rinse can’t sort out. The bar did create bubbles (not loads but then I did have quite a deep bath and only used half the bar) and the smell did stick around whilst I was in the bath. I can’t smell it on my skin now (a couple of hours later) but I have used a moisturiser with a fairly strong scent aswell so that’d be why. I don’t know if I’d buy this one again (for a while anyway) because I didn’t think it was anything extremely amazing but it was a lovely bath and I am looking forward to using the other half!

  • Divination Reusable Bubble Bar* ~ ‘Patchouli and rose-scented divine intervention. This bubble bar will point you in the right direction’ (£5.95)divination bubble bar

Something I was absolutely certain I wanted to get from the Oxford Street store was a reusable bubble bar. I remember having one of these back in the day (I think it was a pink star!?) and that’s where my love for the classic Lush sickly sweet Marshmallow smell comes from. I think these are great value for money as you can reuse them a number of times without having to break pieces off and they always look so adorable on the side of your bath. This one doesn’t look the prettiest or fanciest of the bunch (I mean one was a full on Chinese dragon with 2 sticks attached!) but I like the rosey bronze colour of it and it’s supposed to resemble a pendulum type tool used in divination (I did find out the name but it’s escaped me). The word Divination comes from the Latin word ‘divinare’ which means ‘to foresee’. I won’t lie though, all I can think of is the hilariously bug-eyed lady that is Professor Trelawney  from the Harry Potter series (good old Sybil) which is part of the reason I took it to the till. However, on reflection, this is probably one of my favourite smelling products that I bought and I am so pleased that I did. It’s definitely a more spicy scent so if you’re a floral or fruity person then you may find it a bit gross, but this is definitely my cup of (chai) tea. I haven’t been very technical with this one so I’d better give you some ingredients; amber and violet seem to be the most present so it’s almost sweet and woody and resembles incense rather a lot. I suppose it relates to Yoga Bomb in a way although that is sweeter and lighter in my opinion.

Bath Oils

  • Cloak of Invisibility* ~ ‘When you just want to disappear, cloak yourself in jasmine and rosewood waters to shield yourself from reality’ (£2)cloak of invisibility

When I saw that the Oxford Street store had bought out a whole range of ‘luxury bath oils’ priced at just £2 each I got very excited indeed. I kind of wish I’d bought a couple more but as I haven’t tried one before I didn’t want to get too ahead of myself! The first one is ‘Cloak of Invisibility’ (another harry potter inspired name!?) and it’s an orange pumpkin-esque type deal with a gold glitter coating. The scent is similar to Lust perfume as it has jasmine and rosewood notes and I think this smell is rapidly becoming one of my favourites! I can’t wait to see how this reacts with the bath water as it’s an oil based product and the two don’t usually mix easily. Hopefully it will do wonders for the skin.

  • Mmmelting Marshmallow Moment ~ ‘Moisturising marshmallow oil whipped up with cocoa butter and almond oil’ (£2) mmmelting marshmallow moment

The second bath oil was simply a must in my opinion. Oh yes, it’s that incredible sickly sweet marshmallow scent that I adore. ‘Mmmelting marshmallow moment’ is a shimmery, dual layered, pink and yellow circle which I know will be amazingly moisturising as it contains almond oil and cocoa butter. In that sense, it’s very similar to ‘Creamy Candy bubble bar’ which I love except I’m assuming this will create a less bubbly and much more oily bath.

Body Scrubs

  • The Rough with the Smooth* ~ ‘All of us have dead skin, some of us are just better at scrubbing it’ (£4.95) the rough with the smooth

I decided to buy a scrub because I was significantly lacking one in my collection and I had heard good things about the Lush ones. This exclusive one smelt the nicest in my opinion and it turns out it shares it’s scent with the Lord of Misrule bath bomb and shower gel – neither of which I’ve tried unfortunately. The patchouli oil gives this scrub an earthy element and there’s also a hint of vanilla somewhere in amongst it to sweeten the aroma. It also contains murumuru butter and castor oil so is highly moisturising. I’ve only used this once and I loved it. It’s a harsh scrub so it really exfoliates the skin but I like that about it because it makes your skin that little bit softer afterwards.

Shower Gels

  • Beautiful Shower Gel ~ ‘You’re gonna find, yes you will, that you’re beautiful as you feel’ (£4.75 for 100g)beautiful shower gel

I’ve never tried a shower gel from lush believe it or not, so I thought it was about time I did. I decided on ‘Beautiful’ and just got the smallest bottle because it is quite pricey and I wasn’t crazy in love with the scent. It does smell good though with a citrus fruit scent due to the peach and apricot juices and also looks amazing with flecks of gold glitter running through. I still haven’t tried this yet so I can’t comment on how well it works but I look forward to having lots of showers with it as it has such a summery vibe.

Skincare

  • Breath of Fresh Air Toner Water ~ ‘A refreshing facial spritzer with cooling aloe vera, sea water and seaweed.’ (£4.25)breath of fresh air toner

 I always enjoy using a toner after cleansing just to remove any last remains of makeup and this one smelt too good to leave on the shelf. It’s so refreshing and much lighter than a lot of the previously described scents which makes it perfect for use morning or night – or even throughout the day for a little pick me up. I’ve been using this everyday for about a week now and I am obsessed!

  • Mask of Magnaminty Face Mask ~ ‘Use anywhere to fight breakouts with these gentle but effective ingredients’ (£5.50)mask of magnaminty

Last, but by no means least, comes the only face mask I bought and it’s another product that I’ve actually been using already. It’s called ‘Mask of Magnaminty’ and it’s a non-exclusive – meaning you can go grab it from any store – and I would recommend doing just that! It has an unusual peppermint smell which at first I wasn’t keen on but I decided to take the plunge and buy it anyway on the basis of how beneficial it’s supposed to be for clearing up breakouts and leaving your skin in ‘tip top condition’. Over the past week however, the scent has really grown on me and I’m looking for any excuse to apply this! I think this is a great value for money product because it’s the cheapest of all the face masks yet contains almost double the amount of product and doesn’t need refrigeration. I feel like I’ve used this a lot already but you can barely see a dip in the pot. I’m definitely glad I picked this one up in the store!

So, that’s everything I bought from the flagship Oxford Street Lush store! I hope I’ve been informative and helpful if any of you are looking to take a trip there – I would highly advise having an idea of what you would like before you go because it can be a tad overwhelming (although glorious).

If you’d like to get a better idea of what each item looks like feel free to check out my video here; 

I hope you have a lovely weekend and I’ll speak to you soon!

Love Izzy xxx

10 thoughts on “Oxford Street Lush Haul // Featuring Exclusive Products

Leave a Reply

