Empties // June

recent empties

Over the past few weeks I seem to have finished up a number of products and so thought it would be only fair to share my thoughts towards them. I often find this to be a better way of reviewing items as I have much more of an opinion on them – it takes dedication to finish a product am I right!?

Some of these things I actually finished ages ago but saved especially for this post (lucky you). One of said things is The Body Shop’s Shea Body Butter which took me a long time to finish but was an enjoyable process nonetheless. It smells lovely and, although it’s not the most exotic, I chose this one because I knew it was one I wouldn’t get bored with and when you have this much product in one tub, scent is definitely an important factor to consider! It was definitely very nourishing, hydrating and quick to sink into the skin so overall a big fat thumbs up for Body Shop Body Butters!

I am forever getting through bottles of Batiste Dry Shampoo so it’s really no surprise that this is featuring in another blog post. This is the Cherry scent which I’d never tried until now but I really liked it and it’s nice just to change things up a bit sometimes!

Another product I’ve talked about loads is the Nivea Express Hydration Primer and seeing as this featured in one of my latest favourites and has been fully reviewed (here) I won’t blab on anymore. Considering I’m now on my second tub you can take that as a good sign!

A product that I finished a while ago was the Rimmel Scandaleyes Felt Liner. Now I’m normally quite positive about products but this was just a complete let down to be honest. Sure it had a nice fine point to it and worked well for the first couple of uses, but it just dried out so quickly!! I definitely wouldn’t recommend this one as I much prefer my Collection Extreme Liner which was much cheaper and lasts me ages.

A makeup item that I did love however was the Jemma Kidd Front Cover Touch Up Concealer which although I used on and off for over a year (I can hear people screaming at me that you shouldn’t keep makeup that long but do I care? no) ended up becoming a firm favourite just as it was on it’s last legs so I’m kind of sad this has finished and will probably pick up a new one at some point.

The Botanics Hydrating Night Cream from Boots was an average product overall. Again, this lasted me so long and, quite frankly, I ended up slathering it on in order to finish it up. It was hydrating and very affordable but always felt a little on the heavy side so I could never quite make up my mind about it.

The same type of thing happened with the Boots Cucumber Eye Gel as it was one of those products that you use just for the sake of using and never quite makes enough difference to be noticeable. Sad times.

This seems to have become a post all about products that I should’ve finished years ago but have only just got round to using up. Anyway, the Simply Pure Refreshing Toner from Superdrug has also died a death (I also seem to be talking about a lot of own brand products – what can I say, I am a cheapskate). I bought this along with the matching cleanser back in about Year 9 or 10 (2012!?) just as I was getting into skincare and it was beginning to haunt me as it sat in the bottom draw of my collection unused, so I whacked it out and promised myself I’d finish it before I tried any new toners. Next mission: finish the cleanser. Oh, and in terms of how good it was, I’d say average. It does the job but nothing more and was a great choice for a first toner as it was very very affordable (I think about £1).

Finally, I’ve finished up a couple more of the L’oreal makeup removers since my last empties. This one is the L’oreal Micellar Water which I really like and have repurchased a couple of times. It removes my makeup really well and is just a fuss free way of cleansing. 10/10 would recommend.

So that’s most of the products I’ve finished up over the past couple of months. I didn’t realise this was going to be quite as long as it is so well done if you made it to the end! I know it was a mixture of opinions but sometimes products are just average and that’s life I’m afraid (#deep).

Let me know what you think of empties posts and if you’d like to see more in the future because I’ll be sure to hang on to products if you do!

Don’t forget to enter my Giveaway if you haven’t already – the link is HERE.

ALSO, on a very exciting/scary note, I have finally taken the plunge and set myself up a YouTube channel!! I’ve kept the name daisychainsintherain but at the moment it won’t come up if you search for it (probably because I have no videos lol) so here is the link if you’d like to subscribe; https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQyHZK40g3pOyn4IUtv9uHA 

Thankyou for reading!

Love Izzy xxx

7 thoughts on “Empties // June

  1. I feel you the the disappointment over the Boots Cucumber Eye Gel! It did nothing for me either! I love their Cucumber eye make up remover as a bit of a cooling wake up for my eyes in the morning though! Unfortunately not great at removing eye makeup though ha!
    Danielle’s Beauty Blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It wasn’t anything special but I guess you can’t really expect much considering the price haha! I’ve never tried the rest of their range but the makeup remover sounds great :) xx

      Like

  2. I used that eyeliner too and hated it, but I just read the other comments and Im glad to know I wasn’t the only one. I really want some shea butter and I need a new primer, ah I’m definitely going to try that! At the moment I use a Benefit one but that’s only because i was a Christmas present and since I haven’t been wearing makeup much it hasn’t had much use but now I’m back into makeup and I need a good primer and want to be prepared for when it finishes! I’m definitely going to try this one:)x
    Libby-Jade

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I’m so glad I’m not the only one!! You should definitely give that primer a go, I really want to try the benefit one because I’m sure that’d be even better but it’s a little pricey! This one is so cheap though so definitely worth a try xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

