Pink Lemonade Recipe // Prairie Charms Collab

Today I attempted to make pink lemonade!

I managed to find a recipe from the BBC GoodFood website which I’ll list below, alas I had barely any of the ingredients so decided to freestyle it and here’s what I ended up with.

Whilst I’m going to blow my own trumpet here and say I think it looks and tastes pretty delicious, it was a bit of a trail and error (mainly error) process so I would advise sticking to the recipe more than I did!

IMG_1526

Ingredients 

300g Caster Sugar 

(I used 50g)

1 1/2 lemons, sliced 

(only one vaguely mouldy lemon was in sight so I skipped this)

1 orange, sliced

(yes, use an orange not orange juice..)

3 x 170g punnets of raspberries 

(I used about 7 raspberries haha)

Ice and fresh mint (optional)

IMG_1511

Method

Place all the ingredients in a large saucepan and pour over 350ml cold water. Bring to the boil, stirring often, then leave to cool. Pour through a sieve, pressing down with a spoon to extract all the juices. The syrup can now be stored in the fridge for up to 1 week. To serve, pour a little into a glass and top up with sparkling or still water, ice and mint.

As I didn’t have many raspberries I reduced the other ingredients so the recipe was remotely proportionate however I think I over boiled slightly as it strongly resembled jam once cooled and was therefore very difficult to get through the sieve! Also due to the minimal ingredients this only produced one serving whereas the recipe should produce 350ml of the syrup.

To add some extra flavour to my drink I used Cream Soda instead of sparkling water just because I prefer it but you can use whichever you wish – even use still water if you don’t fancy anything fizzy.

IMG_1513

The jar I’ve used here is a super cute Kilner Jar which I picked up from Wilkinsons for £3 and the striped straws are from an gorgeous brand called Prairie Charms who I became aware of via Twitter. Everything sold on their online shop is handmade – from hair accessories to popcorn bags! They provide amazing customer service and I was also drawn to the company as they are currently giving 25% of all profit proceeds to the Make A Wish Foundation which I think is a really worthwhile cause.

You can buy these adorable purple and white paper straws (or choose from a variety of other patterns and colours) HERE and definitely check out the rest of the Prairie Charms range as I everything is so pretty and you can even get items custom made!

Let me know of any tips on how to improve my pink-lemonade making or if you decide to make some for yourself.

Go on and spread the positivity with your friends or family by sharing it around!

Love Izzy xxx

3 thoughts on “Pink Lemonade Recipe // Prairie Charms Collab

Leave a Reply

