Empties // February

It usually takes me a pretty long time to get through most beauty, skincare and hair products, even though I use them on such a regular basis, however recently I’ve found myself coming to the end of a few things and so decided to share my opinion on them.

Often, I don’t fully decide if I love something until I have totally finished it and only then can I really give a proper review of each item. After that it’s a matter of ‘would I buy this again?’ because, really, this is the crucial question. I may like it but want to try out something new, I may love it and rush to boots to pick up a new one, or it may be a case of only using it because I wanted to finish the bottle and not waste money.

IMG_9146

In terms of hair products, I have two.

IMG_9181

First up, I finished yet another can of Batiste Dry Shampoo (this time ‘floral & flirty blush’). This is definitely one of my holy grail products as it’s pretty much the only thing (aside from shampoo and conditioner) that I use on my hair. It’s perfect for days when you just can’t be bothered to wash your hair and even if it’s clean this can help to add volume and texture – especially great for a messy bun or updo! This is 100% going to be repurchased as usual.

Something which I bought almost a year ago (and has lasted me this long!) is the John Frieda Sheer Blonde Colour Renew Shampoo. This is a bright purple, tone-correcting shampoo which I bought right after I ombred my hair, and have been using it ever since. I do think this has kept my blonde bits looking more natural rather than yellow or brassy, and also meant that my hair still looks blonde(ish) now even though I dyed it near the beginning of last year. I won’t buy this again unless I re-ombre my hair in the summer as there’s not much point in me using it anymore, however I highly recommend buying this or something similar if you’ve recently dyed all or part of your hair blonde.

IMG_9182

The only skincare item I’ve recently finished is the L’Oreal Skin Perfection 3-in-1 Purifying Micellar Solution. This is my second bottle of this and I now have a bottle of the gel version – I think that shows that I like it! A great makeup remover for the face and eyes, a little pricey however if you can get it on offer it’s definitely worth it. I feel like this gets every last bit of makeup off and acts as a cleanser at the same time.

IMG_9199

In terms of makeup, I have two foundations that I’m saying goodbye to this month. I’ll start with the L’Oreal True Match Foundation as this is the one I have been using the most for, well, the entire winter (and autumn for that matter) This is such a highly recommended drugstore foundation and I know that pretty much every blogger has tried it, loved it, and reviewed it so I won’t get too in depth. Overall a great one which I am sad to be leaving but will probably repurchase this in the future (when the price goes down because £10 isn’t exactly the cheapest for an unemployed student)

My second finished foundation is the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse. I have had a bit of a love-hate relationship with this one. Its probably about 2 or 3 years old (I know I know you’re not supposed to keep makeup that long!) and I do have another pot of this (both were half finished!?) so I made the effort to use one of them up, and I have to say although I went through a phase of detesting the stuff, I now actually do quite like it! If you prefer dewey- looking foundation this won’t be for you. It also doesn’t work well with dry skin (unless you mix with moisturiser) as I have learnt from experience. I guess it’s just one you have to take a risk with! I’m gonna say that I won’t buy this again, just because I feel as though there are other foundations out there that work better with my skin, and generally feel that mousse should stick to chocolate and not foundation.

Finally, I can’t quite tell, but I’m pretty sure I’ve come to the end of my clear mascara from Natural Collection. I bought this for only a pound or two to set my brows in place and it did a rather good job. I have had it for a long time though so think its about time to chuck it!

What’s the last thing you finished up and would you buy it again!?

Congratulations if you made it this far – I haven’t done a post like this for a while and it feels like the good ol’ days where I would ramble on for stupid lengths of time!

Love Izzy

xxx

2 thoughts on “Empties // February

Leave a Reply

