Get Ready With Me // Party Edition

On Saturday night, we had a load of family and friends over to our house to celebrate my Dad’s 50th birthday! As this was quite a big occasion I thought I’d better make a bit of an effort and this was the result..

(warning: apologies for the bad quality photos that you are about to witness)

IMG_0399

The dress I am wearing is one I bought in the Topshop sale a few weeks back. It was originally priced at around £80 but I managed to get it for £23 by using a gift card to get even more off the sale price (bargain or what!?) It is a gorgeous velvet material so is actually really soft even though it is covered with shiny black sequins which adds an interesting effect. Also, it just so happens that Beyonce once wore this dress and I didn’t even realise when I bought it… we’re basically the same person…obviously…

So that you can see the length of the dress and my shoes, here is a full picture (sorry for being rubbish at posing)

image1

As you can see, I braved the bare legs despite the bitterly cold weather and paired the dress with a pair of nude heels which are actually from Clarks (bringing back those primary school vibes) and are called the Kendra heels (£55) if you’re interested.

As the dress is pretty detailed despite being one colour, I decided to go without jewellery aside from some silver earrings.

IMG_8842

The nail colour I chose to wear was a glittery black shade from Barry M which goes by the name of ‘Black Multi Glitter’ (so inventive) which I feel matched the dress perfectly.

IMG_8841

(Excuse my nails not being amazing I am in a state of growing them!)

image2

For makeup I went very heavy on the eyes and simple for the rest of the face and lips. I will try to remember all the products I used and list them below.

image3

Face:

L’Oreal True Match Foundation, Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer, Rimmel Stay Matte Powder, MUA Bronzed Perfection Bronzer, Chit Chat Blusher

Eyebrows:

Natural Collection eyeshadow in ‘Milk Chocolate’ followed by MUA’s eyeshadow in Shade 19 Matte (both applied with a thin angled brush)

Eyes:

Rimmel Undercover Eyeshadow Primer, Manhattan Go Big Eyeshadow Pen in ‘Sandalwood’, L’Oreal Eyeshadow in ‘Silver Brown’, Sleek ‘Au Natural’ Palette (matte purple shade in crease and a tiny bit of matte black along waterline), Primark liquid eyeliner and the Collection Extreme Pen eyeliner (they were both kind of running out), Maybelline The Falsies Mascara, and finally the Primark ‘Natural’ Eyelashes  (never usually wear falsies but would highly recommend for only £1) Also, no my eyeliner was not supposed to be this long, yes it did go completely wrong and yes it was stressful #eyelinerprobs

Lips:

I was wearing ‘Tantalizing Taupe’ lipstick from Maybelline with the Rimmel Apocolips in ‘Celestial’ over the top but only applied it after these photos were taken and to be honest it wasn’t there for long (it mysteriously vanished once I started stuffing my face with mini eclairs)

FullSizeRender

Those of you that follow me on instagram (isobel_mcallister, cheeky plug) probably saw that I was adventurous with my hair for this occasion as I decided to not only curl it but put it up in a kind of prom-esque updo.

I should really have taken a photo from the back but I pretty much just backcombed slightly, shoved it up in a low messy bun using a few million hair grips and kept lots of sections loose and curly. I was pleasantly surprised by how well this stayed in throughout the night and I will definitely be attempting this style more often because it was a lot more simple than I anticipated!

I hope you liked this ‘Get Ready With Me’ type post – I’ve never done one before so let me know if you want more in the future.

Did you get up to anything nice this weekend?

Thankyou for reading!

Love Izzy xxx

10 thoughts on “Get Ready With Me // Party Edition

  1. Looking stunning. I love the hair! If you can can you do an in depth tutorial, I always struggle with doing messy updos myself. Eyeliner is fab too, the flick is another thing I always fail to do! (I sound like a terrible beauty addict now haha) xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much! I am really not the best at tutorials and as I have only tried this once I’m definitely not an expert but some tips are to make sure you’re hair is textured by curling and back combing and then use a hairband to put the majority of hair into a bun but add the rest in with grips (if that makes sense) I will link you a tutorial which I found really helpful if I can find it! Also eyeliner is such a pain I totally feel you ahaha xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

