Boots Haul

Hello everyone, 

So I know I was supposed to be saving up for summer, but I may have slipped into boots by accident and picked up a few bits and bobs, which were all totally unnecessary but made me a very happy girl for a few minutes…before I looked at my bank balance. *hangs head in shame*

Nonetheless, I figured that if I made a blog post out of it, I would regret my splurge a lot less, and perhaps persuade you to join me on the old drugstore bandwagon!

Image

First up I purchased the very highly raved about L’oreal True Match Foundation (in the shade ‘golden ivory’)

Image

I have been on the hunt for the perfect foundation for my Year 11 Prom, which is coming up in about 3 weeks, for a while and after watching countless ‘prom makeup’ tutorials on Youtube I have noticed that a lot of people have recommended this one in particular. The main thing that attracted me to it was the fact that it is known for not having that horrible flash-back effect in photographs (which is definitely not the look I am aiming for).

It cost £9.99 which I consider to be on the more expensive end of the drugstore spectrum, however for a foundation which has been compared to ones triple the price, I have high hopes that this will be worth the money.

You can pick the True Match foundation up here: http://www.boots.com/en/LOreal-Paris-True-Match-Foundation_16049/

(also there is currently a 3 for 2 offer on all L’oreal cosmetics in boots at the moment, in case you were wondering)

Image

As I strolled over to the Barry M section of the store, the selection of Cor Balmy’ Tinted Lip Balms immediately caught my eye. I believe these are fairly new as I have never seen them in shops before and I recently read a review on them (I wish I could remember whose it was but I can’t, sorry!) which made me really intrigued to try them out. They are extremely similar to the Maybelline ‘Baby Lips’ which everyone and their grandma seems to know and love, aside from the different (if slightly unusual) name and the range of colours avaliable. I picked up the shade ‘Currant Bun‘ which is a really dark vampy purple. It looks very scary at first but, although very pigmented, transfers onto the lips in a much more sheer manner creating the perfect tint for your lips whilst being super nourishing due to the “rich moisturising core” in the centre. I feel like I am likely to wear this more in the Autumn/Winter months as it is not particularly summer appropriate but it is subtle enough to wear all year round. (swatch at the end)

I may do a comparison post of Baby Lips vs. Cor Balmy at some point, would you guys like that?

These cost £3.49 and you can buy them here: http://www.boots.com/en/Barry-M-Cor-Balmy-Tinted-Lip-Balm_1471512/

~~~

Whilst loitering around the Barry M products, I felt the urge to purchase another Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paint. I already have the shade ‘Papaya’ which is one of my all-time favourite nail polishes, and my sister has ‘Blood Orange’ (which of course I have stolen many times!) so I chose ‘Mango’ a very bright orange colour. I have it on my nails at the moment and it looks even more vibrant than the photo gives it justice for. I think it is the perfect summer shade and can add a pop of colour to any outfit. I can see this being my staple nail polish over the next few months!

The BarryM Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paints each cost £3.99 and you can chuck a few in your basket here: http://www.boots.com/en/Barry-M-Hi-Shine-Gel-Effect-Nail-Polish_1281299/

(they are also on offer, you can get 2 for £7)

~~~

Maybelline had a 3 for 2 offer on and so technically I got this next item for free! It is the Maybelline Brow Drama (shade: medium brown) which is a ‘sculpting brow mascara’. I have heard a lot of things about this brow product and as I have recently been putting a lot more effort into my eyebrows and filling them almost everyday, I thought it was about time to give it a go. I have tried it out only a couple of times so far and I have to admit, I haven’t immediately fallen in love with it. I don’t want to completely abandon all hope though because I am going to persevere with it and let you know how I get on after a few weeks/months. You never know it could crop up in my next favourites!?

Image

I can sort of justify the next purchases! As previously mentioned, my prom is rapidly approaching, and whilst I knew I wanted to do some kind of silvery smokey eye with a nude lip, I was lacking in the nude lipstick department. I only own one nude lipstick which unfortunately has been shunned to the back of my makeup drawers as it makes my lips look slightly ashy and basically dead looking. Not a good look. Again watching prom tutorials on youtube I began to notice that the Maybelline Colour Sensational Lipstick in shade 725 ‘Tantalizing Taupe’ was being used rather a lot and looked beautiful on the lips from what I could see. I found it in boots and after swatching it a couple of times I decided I would risk it and step out of my comfort zone into the big bad world of nude lipsticks. I have yet to wear this out but so far I am loving the colour and think it will suit my skin tone well. 

~~~

As it was 3 for 2, I thought eck why not!? and bought this extremely bright lipstick in the shade 422 ‘Coral Tonic’ (again it looks a lot brighter in real life) I don’t often wear lipstick and when I do it tends to be either a basic red or pale pink, I haven’t properly explored the area of coral lips yet as last summer I was much too shy for bright lips (and let’s face it you can’t really get away with this shade in winter). However, cringey as it may sound, over the last year my style has definitely changed a LOT and I am now much more daring and experimental when it comes to my makeup (like I said earlier, I have now started filling in my brows which this time last year would never have happened!)

I have fallen in love with this lipstick and wore it to a concert yesterday. Convinced my lips would have gone back to their normal colour after wearing it all night, I arrived home pleasantly surprised to see that my lips were still a bit stained and the lipstick had gradually worn away evenly but not completely! I can see this being worn all summer as it looks so pretty both against pale skin but also with a tan.

You can pick up the Maybelline Colour sensational lipsticks here: http://www.boots.com/en/Maybelline-Colour-Sensational-Lipstick_982712/ 

They are £7.19 each (slightly expensive but totally worth it!)

 

Image

SWATCHES:

Top: Maybelline Colour sensational lipstick – Tantalizing Taupe

Middle: Maybelline Colour sensational lipstick – Coral Tonic

Bottom: Barry M Cor Balmy tinted lip balm – Currant Bun

 

I hope you like this post, I really enjoyed buying, photographing and writing about the products! 

Let me know if you have been trying anything new from the drugstore recently, I would love to hear from you.

Lots of Love

Izzy

x

 

Leave a Reply

