School Makeup- Winter Edition.

Well hello there everyone,

Now I have felt bad for pretty much the whole of January because of how badly my blogging is going. One of my new years resolutions was to be more dedicated to my blog as I feel like I can sometimes forget about it or upload posts that I am not completely happy with just for the sake of uploading it. I have also been extremely busy and stressed with school work and very very tired aswell. Blogging takes a lot longer than you may think, after thinking of an idea, getting the products ready, photographing them and then uploading the photos and writing the post (especially as my internet connection is not the best!) it does take a good couple of hours at least which is hard to find sometimes! Anyway I wont complain any more as I am sure you are bored of hearing about it and so without further ado…

So far I have only written two posts this year! That’s crazy considering we are already halfway through January. So today I got home from school and had to think for a long time about what to blog about. I didn’t want to do another favourites because that was what my last  beauty post was about and I haven’t bought any new products in what seems like forever so I couldn’t do a haul. Also I really haven’t been experimental with my makeup so far this year and so don’t have anything which I feel I could write a good review about. However I decided that because I have been back at school for a couple of weeks now I have settled into an everyday(ish)  routine using products which are easy and basic but still look nice. Therefore I am going to share with you these products in the hope that some of you may find it interesting or useful and that it may give those of you who go to school or prefer slightly more simple makeup a bit of inspiration…

Image

As you can see there are not a huge amount of products which I use for school especially as I am definitely not a morning person and usually get up with about 40 minutes or less to get ready for school. I obviously have a bit of variation each day but all of these I use regularly if not everyday.

 Image

For my main ‘face’ products, I use the Bourjois healthy mix foundation (shade 52-Vanilla) -sorry its so dirty and the writing’s rubbed off! Alternatively, if I want slightly less coverage I may opt for my garnier BB cream but to be honest that’s more of a summer favourite for me.

For concealer of course it will be no surprise to hear that I am still devoted to my Collection lasting perfection concealer (shade 2 light). I am now onto my 3rd bottle and I have used this all through 2013! It covers blemishes really well aswell as under my eyes however I do find that I need a couple of layers under my eyes to even begin to cover my dark circles!

The only powder I use and love is the Rimmel stay matte powder. Again this isn’t particularly surprising, but I couldn’t live without powder for school as it keeps my makeup in place for slightly longer, makes it all blend together and look more natural and mattifies my face. I always keep a powder in my blazer pocket for a touch up at lunchtime aswell as this can just give your makeup a little lift throughout the day!

Image

A product which I could not live without is my Sleek contour kit (light). I use this everyday for contouring as it looks natural but defines the face and I just think it improves my makeup massively (but it depends on your face shape and style of course). I wouldn’t say I am a huge fan of the highlighter although I do use it everyday, I just feel that it isn’t massively pigmented but for school it is perfect. The bronzer is amazing and doesn’t look orange or muddy and it really does slim down your face to give a contoured effect.

I don’t do my brows everyday as I don’t think it is completely necessary for school, but if I have time I prefer to fill them in slightly with my Rimmel Professional eyebrow pencil (shade 002-hazel) I think it makes my eyebrows look bolder and more put together but it is easy to make them look too drawn on so make sure to press lightly and use it sparingly if you are not used to filling in your eyebrows. I love how this has a brow brush on the end because it tones down the boldness and makes them look more natural.

Image

I normally use a liquid eyeliner pen for school but unfortunately my cheap asda one has just run out (it was rather good though!). So instead I have now started using my Seventeen Backlash gel eyeliner on a more regular basis. I have to admit I do find this slightly harder than using a pen purely because you have to make sure you keep topping up the brush before applying it which you don’t have to worry about with a pen. I do have to say however, that it does last longer and does not do any flaky or fading business which is always annoying, and also it gives a nicer finish in my opinion.

I like to line half way along my waterline when I wear eyeliner (although this is an ‘only-when-you-want-a-bit-more-drama’ optional step)and to do this I have actually been using the Collection Eyeshadow Pencil in the shade ‘Midnight Glam’. I wouldn’t have thought I would use an eyeshadow pen on my waterline but it actually works a lot better than most of my pencil eyeliners! Even though it is a sparkly silvery black it doesn’t come out silver or obviously sparkly/glittery when I apply this onto my waterline and the best thing about it is that it doesn’t smudge down under my eye which I hate as I usually don’t notice that my eyeliner has smudged until I go to the bathroom and see how horrendous I look! This does not do that and it lasts all day in the right place which is perfect! Another great thing about this (well, this might aswell be a review by now haha) is that it is gorgeous to apply and doesn’t tug your eye or cause any discomfort or pain whatsoever :)

A mascara which I received in my stocking for Christmas and have wanted for aaaages, is the Maybelline The Falsies Mascara. I am loving this so far and after going back to my old mascara today I realised just how much of a difference it makes. It is obviously supposed to give the effect of false lashes (hence the name) and it does if you apply a couple of coats or are quite generous with application. This is great for nights out etc, however for school it is just as easy to apply this sparingly and it just looks really pretty! Not fake or spidery but curly and fluttery which is brilliant for school.

 

Image

Lastly for lip products I have chosen two to share with you.

Firstly one I use pretty much everyday for school is of course my beloved Baby lips. This is my newest to the collection and it is the ‘Intense Care’ one. I also got this in my stocking for Christmas – thanks santa ;) This is perfect for school because not only does it hydrate lips immediately but makes them look really glossy (but not unnatural)  and just looks very pretty and simple on the lips.

However if you do want a bit of colour on the lips then I would recommend the Topshop Lipstick in Innocent. Its a really pretty baby pink shade which isn’t too pale and isn’t too dark. I think you could easily get away with wearing this to school (unless your school is really strict!) but I would recommend blending it in with your finger to make it look more natural. This also looks beautiful with a clear gloss over it.

 

So that is it for my Wintery back to school simple make up type thingy! I hope you enjoyed it and found it useful/interesting. If you want to read more about my opinion on most of these products I am pretty sure I have mentioned all of them (aside from the mascara and brow pencil) in other blog posts (probably my favourites) so go and hunt them down and leave some nice comments if you so wish!

Thanks for reading all the way to the end if you are here. I am quite happy with this post as I think the photography lighting was good for once and hopefully I didn’t blab on for too long!? Let me know if you enjoy things like this and please leave blog ideas below because I am a bit stuck at the moment!

Have a great Friday tomorrow and a fabulous weekend!

Love Izzy

xxx

Leave a Reply

