Winter Must Haves // Beauty Edition

Hey everybody!

Well here we are, December already! I cannot believe how fast December is whizzing by and Christmas is almost upon us which gets me super excited!

I am really getting into the festive spirit this year and after a stressful few weeks with mock exams over with I am back and ready to blog again! I can always think of some excuse for not blogging because although I love it, it is very time consuming and something which isn’t of highest priority amongst school work and such so I don’t often find the time. However now that I am nearing the last couple of weeks of school I am starting to relax more and try to enjoy the Christmas season :)

So this is the first of my ‘Christmassy style blogs!’ and I am going to share with you a few of my beauty related winter must haves. I am going to do a follow up to this with non-beauty christmas favourites soon so sit tight for that :D

Image

Image

As soon as Autumn/ Winter arrives everyone whacks out their berry shades and I am no different! This time last year I would never have dared to try a dark lip colour (thinking about it I had probably never properly worn lipstick! Just goes to show how much I have changed in one year)

It is all well and good wearing lipsticks however nobody likes a chapped lip! Therefore a definite must have is lip balm. Here I have the original Carmex which is definitely the best I own for lips in need of some serious TLC, however any lip balm will do and I am also especially loving baby lips this winter :)

Another lip care product I adore at this time of year is lip scrub. I am currently using the Bubblegum lip scrub from lush which tastes and smells delicious. This is a little pricey so I try to save it for days wear I am wearing a bold lip which is usually about once a week max. It does make my lips super soft though :D

My 3 favourite ‘winter shades’ for lipstick are pictured above. Firstly my newest lipstick which is Rimmel’s lasting finish lipstick in 016 ‘Heart Breaker’; a gorgeous pinky red (it looks more pink in the photo) which is awesome if you want a bold lip colour which is slightly toned down from bright red. It is moisturising, doesn’t dry out lips and actually smells really nice!

If you do want a bright red lip (I will certainly be wearing this on Christmas day!) then Natural Collection’s ‘Cherry Red’ is perfect. The price (£1.99) is insane for such a good lipstick, this is one of my most moisturising, and the colour payoff is so pigmented. I am tempted to go and buy more natural collection lipsticks because they are so affordable and amazing!

Lastly I have been loving the Rimmel Apocalips in ‘Galaxy’ which is a deep pinky purple. I wasn’t sure I liked this when I first tried it however winter has inspired me to be bolder and I actually love wearing this now. This formula is great if you want the pigmentation of a lipstick with the look and feel of a lipgloss and the staying power of a lip stain!

Image

I love my eyeshadows all year round but winter is especially perfect for smokey eyes and shimmery shades. A definite must have is a nuetrals palette with a mixture of shimmer and matte shades. The one I picked out today is the MUA undressed palette which cost an amazing £4 and is pretty much an exact dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Palette (which I don’t actually own but have read many comparison blogs about!) However another one I am in love with is the Sleek ‘Au natural’ Palette which has some amazing winter shades in.

Products which I talk about all the time anyway are the Maybelline Colour Tattoos which are just amazing. My favourite shade is ‘on and on bronze’ which was the first one I got (photographed on the right), I then bought ‘permanent taupe’ (not pictured) and just yesterday I purchased ‘Metallic Pomegranate’. They only cost £4.99 each and are worth every penny!

Image

I love any dark shade of nail polish in winter, but two that I randomly selected from my favourites are from NYC in the shade ‘Manhattan’ and Barry M’s ‘Amethyst glitter’. Any kind of sparkle looks beautiful at Christmas time and I have found that this combo works really well together.

Another must for winter is body butter, you don’t want to be getting dry skin! At the moment I am using a shea butter one from the Body shop but I also love the soap and glory ‘righteous butter’.

Image

Swatches of Colour Tattoos: Top= On and on bronze. Bottom=Metallic Pomegranate.

I hope you liked my first Chrismassy Blog post! Let me know what you are using most at the moment :)

Izzy

xxx

2 thoughts on “Winter Must Haves // Beauty Edition

Leave a Reply

