My top 5 base makeup products!

Today I am going to share with you my top 5 favourite products which I use for my base makeup..

DSCN2463

Starting off with primers, my favourite is MUA’s undress your skin flawless skin primer which is priced at £5.

DSCN2466

I felt like I should include a primer as I know that a lot of people use them everyday. However as I don’t feel like I need one that much I tend to only bother with a primer at the weekends of if I am going out. Saying that I do like the way that it mattifys my skin and keeps my foundation in place for a little longer, also it makes my face super soft after applying it!

DSCN2472

My favourite foundation has to be the Wake me up foundation from Rimmel. This was the first liquid foundation I ever bought and I love it! I think it is a great medium coverage foundation but could be built up to high coverage if you layered it- I personally feel that one pump is enough to cover my whole face and give medium-high coverage. Something which I love about this foundation is the fact that it has tiny bits of glitter in it which gives a beautiful radiant effect which really makes you look more awake (hence the name!) I think it is a great shade for me (100-ivory) and I think they do a good selection of shades which are all priced at £5.99. I really want to try the wake me up concealer as well!  I think I will definitely repurchase this foundation when I run out as it has served me well :D

DSCN2475

If I am having a day where I don’t feel like wearing foundation (usually for school) I find myself reaching for my Garnier BB cream (shade light for oily to combination skin). This doesn’t give as much coverage as a foundation would but it evens out my skin tone and reduces redness whilst giving me a nicer looking complexion. It has a whole list of things that it supposedly does on the box and I have to say I do agree with a lot of them which is great! The only thing I dislike about this product is that although I have the lightest shade it is still quite dark, I am not that pale and usually find it easy to find my shade however I would love it if they came out with a lighter shade as I think a lot more people would buy it.

This is normally priced at about £10 (which I think is quite steep considering the size of the bottle) however I bought mine from superdrug on offer for £6.66 -This offer is still on so go and grab one! (unless you are very pale then I wouldn’t recommend-sorry!)

DSCN2477

The concealer I use everyday is of course the Collection Lasting perfection concealer (shade 2). I don’t think this surprises anyone and I am not going to review it as I know that pretty much every other beauty blogger has! So basically this is just a great concealer priced at £4.19. It is perfect for covering blemishes although I do find that it sometimes cracks under my eyes so it looks like I have a heck of a load of wrinkles! However this happens to me with quite a lot of my concealers so don’t let that put you off if you are considering buying this. Obviously the writing has rubbed off the packaging which happens to all of these concealers but the product itself works so well and lasts quite a while. This is the first tube I have had and it feels like I have had it for ages, I am only just running out of it (very annoying!)

DSCN2478

Finally the powder I tend to use the most is the Rimmel stay matte powder. I have had this for ages and as you can see I have finally hit pan on it :( this has meant that I don’t use it everyday but usually only if I want my face to be really matte for a long time- I do have 3 other ones though which I use for school etc. I wish I had bought this powder in translucent because instead I got one which I feel makes my face look a bit orange (I didn’t even know the shade of a powder mattered so much when I bought it!) however if I only use a little of this it looks fine. I would recommend this powder if you also have oily skin and like to keep your face looking matte throughout the day :) This powder is priced at £3.99 which I think is a great price for a product which lasts such a long time and is a makeup bag essential.

So that is my top 5 base makeup products! Have you tried any of these products? Please comment if you liked this style of blog post (top 5) as I am thinking of doing one for lip products, eye products, cheeks, nails, hair etc! (obviously not all in a row!)

Please comment if you came here because you followed my other blog Lashings of Lipstick :D

Have a great day :)

Izzy

x

Leave a Reply

